Feedback / Suggestions

About BBMP

Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP)

Bangalore has the fourth largest municipal corporation in India and has seen tremendous growth since the city was established. The Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (first established as Greater Bengaluru Municipal Corporation on 27 March 1862) has been responsible for sustaining and managing Bengaluru’s civic body and infrastructure.

Structure of BBMP

A mayor and deputy mayor of the council are also elected for a period of 1 year, though not by popular vote. The post of the mayor and deputy mayor are filled through a quota system to a Scheduled Castes and Tribes candidate or to an Other Backward Class female candidate from among the elected Councillors. However, in the absence of an elected body, the BBMP is at present run by an Administrator and a Commissioner, who are appointed by the State Government. The current Administrator is Mr. Dilip Rau and the current Commissioner is Mr. Bharat Lal Meena, both senior IAS officers. The Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike is responsible for civic and infrastructural requirements of the city. It often works in conjunction with other civic bodies such as the Agenda for Bengaluru Infrastracture Development Task Force (ABIDe) and the Bangalore Development Authority (BDA) to design and implement civic and infrastructural projects.

With its ever increasing population of over 7.8 million, the city has been divided into 8 zones (Yelahanka zone, Dasarahalli, Bommanahalli, South, Mahadevapura, East zone, Rajarajeshwarinagar and West zone), to make administration easier. Each zone has a zonal administrator who is answerable to the Commissioner.

BBMP also works with the Agenda for Bengaluru Infrastructure Development Task Force (ABIDe), Lake Development Authority (LDA) and the Bangalore Development Authority (BDA) for various infrastructural projects in the city.

History of BBMP

The history of municipal governance of Bangalore dates back to March 27, 1862, when nine leading citizens of the city formed a Municipal Board under the Improvement of Towns Act of 1850. Later, a similar Municipal Board was also formed in the Cantonment area of the city. The two boards were legalized in 1881, and functioned as two independent bodies called the Bangalore City Municipality and the Bangalore Civil and Military Station Municipality. The following year, the concept of elected representatives come into being and also saw the introduction of property tax.

After Indian independence, the two Municipal Boards were merged to form the Corporation of the City of Bangalore in 1949, under the Bangalore City Corporation Act. The corporation then consisted of 70 elected representatives and 50 electoral divisions. The name of the council then changed first to Bangalore City Corporation (BCC) and then to Bangalore Mahanagara Palike(BMP).

In January 2007, the Karnataka Government issued a notification to merge the areas under existing Bangalore Mahanagara Palike with seven City municipal council(CMC)'s, one Town municipal council(TMC) and 111 villages around the city to form a single administrative body, Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike. The process was completed by April 2007 and the body was renamed 'Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike'.

What are the responsibilities of the BBMP?

Under the umbrella of infrastructure and civic responsibilities, the BBMP is responsible for most of the amenities we use on a daily basis from zoning and building regulations to hygiene, health, licensing, education, trade and quality of life which include water bodies, parks and greenery.Some of the other obligatory functions include cleaning and construction of roads, clearing of sewage and garbage, waste disposal, maintenance of drains, bridges and pavements and tree planting among others.

Last Updated: 19-02-2022 11:28 AM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2024, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080